Friday, 6 November 2015

Sardar Ayaz Sadiq takes oath as MNA

Sardar Ayaz Sadiq takes oath as MNA


ISLAMABAD: Former National Assembly speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq took on Friday the oath as a Member of the National Assembly (MNA) following his victory during by-polls in Lahore’s NA-122 constituency.
Sadiq took the oath as MNA under acting speaker Murtzaa Javed Abbasi.
ECP de-notifies Sardar Ayaz Sadiq
Sadiq had been unseated after his election from NA-122 was declared as null and void by an election tribunal on August 22. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan had challenged Sadiq’s election victory.
Along with Sadiq three other members, Riazul Haq Judge, Babar Nawaz Khan and Doctor Shazia Soomro were also sworn in as MNAs.
While all other members congratulated the newly elected MNAs after the oath-taking ceremony, PTI central information secretary Shireen Mazari alleged that the proceedings were a violation of the National Assembly’s business rules, stating that the NA speaker’s elections should have been held before this ceremony.
Election for speaker expected as Ayaz Sadiq returns to NA
Further, acting speaker Abbasi announced that the election for the office of the National Assembly speaker will be held on Monday, November 9.
The former NA speaker was deseated by an election tribunal in August which accepted Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan’s petition challenging the 2013 general elections result. Sadiq had defeated Imran Khan during the 2013 polls and reclaimed his seat by contesting against PTI’s Aleem Khan in by-polls in October.
Despite having reservations over the tribunal’s verdict, Sadiq decided to contest the by-elections instead of moving the higher courts to seek a stay order. On October 11, he defeated PTI candidate Aleem Khan and sealed his return to the lower house.
Though the PTI had lost the October by-polls against Sadiq, it has vowed to contest the election for National Assembly speaker. “The PTI has decided to contest the election of NA Speaker,” deputy parliamentary leader Shah Mehmood Qureshi told media in Islamabad. The party will field its MNA Shafqat Mehmood against Sadiq.

No comments:

Post a Comment